Getting hurt at work might make for entertaining TV, but it is far less funny in real life. Work injuries can range from mild to severe, but no matter the nature of a victim’s injury, the resulting damages are usually serious. When workers have to take time off work or pay medical bills for an on-the-job injury, workers’ compensation is there to help.
Most employers in New Jersey are legally required to have insurance that protects victims of workplace injuries from any financial hardships. These employers must also have temporary disability insurance, which covers any injuries that happen while not at work. There are a few exceptions to this law as well as to who is covered, so workers may want to check whether they are covered.
If a person is injured on the job, he or she generally has 14 days to report the injury, although in some cases the time limit is as long as 90 days. While it is usually a good idea to file for workers’ compensation benefits in as timely a manner as possible, it is not always possible to do so. The good news is that people have up to two years to file claims, and benefits are applied retroactively.
Workers’ compensation benefits provide necessary financial support for injury victims who have to take time off work. Although other states generally allow for less than ideal wage compensation, New Jersey victims can expect to receive 70% of their weekly wages. Benefits also cover other issues related to a workplace injury, including necessary medical treatment and even vocational rehabilitation. Unfortunately, there is no guarantee that a claim will be approved on the first try, so people who have been hurt on the job should be prepared to pursue an appeal if necessary.